Red Wing Fire Department, 1888. (from left) William Reshardt, Peter Reubke, Ed Schenach, John Maetzold, John Dahling, Charles Weich, John Kuhn (Captain), Jacob Seig, William Luck, Matt Pohl, William Diepenbrack, Chris Bracker, William Diepenbrack.
The Gladstone building on Bush St. between Third and Fourth Sts. In 1886, Red Wing experienced the heaviest snow storm in years which caused the roof of the Gladstone building nearing completion to collapse and carry everything with it into the basement. Photo taken much later.
Building at Northeast corner of Main and Plum Street in Red Wing. The Goodhue County Savings Bank was established with T.B. Sheldon as president in 1874 on the second floor, third floor was the old Music Hall. Later the building became the Farm Service Feed Store, now a city parking lot.
Fourth St. between Plum and Bush Sts. City Hall now stands at this location in downtown Red Wing.
Main St. between Plum and Bush Sts. Brick buildings from left: Wilson/Baker block (312-316 Main St); Charles Betcher block (310 Main St.) John Day block (308 Main St.) additional buildings were built to the left adjoining the buildings in this photo. Information from Carrie Conklin Becker (1989) These buildings were restored in 1987 and 1988 and made into a “mall” known as Riverfront Centre. Red Wing Shoe Co. has its corporate headquarters on the upper floors and shops are located on the street level. 1868-1871.
(Editors note:) As of 2010: Entire building is now the corporate headquarters for Red Wing Shoe.
Remmler Brewery at the northwest corner of Fifth and Bush streets in Red Wing. Center of picture, therear part of the house was John Friedrichs “Minnesota House” built in the 1850s. Purchased by William Heising in 1861 and turned into a brewery. Family lived in part of the building for a while, and brewery employees occupied it as sleeping quarters about 1876.Building on left – Ice house with beer cellars underneath built by Mrs. Heising in 1875.Building on right – Large brick addition to brewery made by William Heising in 1869.
All buildings torn down in 1955 by Robert Nybo after standing vacant for years.
November 15th the Metropolitan Hotel, on the levee at the corner of Potter Street in Red Wing, was destroyed by fire and on December 23rd fire destroyed the Union House, barn and adjoining buildings.
Red Wing Seminary on College Bluff opened on September 17, 1879, there were seventy students enrolled the first year. The school was to prepare young men for the ministry.
The building at the rear and the low building to the right are the only standing buildings to this day. Pottery Place in Red Wing is a blend of unique shops and dining experiences.